I can’t even think about this.

–Quoted from ThinkProgress via Cecily:

Redefinition Of Rape: The bill sponsor Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ) faced serious backlash after he tried to narrow the definition rape to “forcible rape.” By narrowing the rape and incest exception in the Hyde Amendment, Smith sought to prevent the following situations from consideration: Women who say no but do not physically fight off the perpetrator, women who are drugged or verbally threatened and raped, and minors impregnated by adults.”

I don’t know what to say.

I can remember laying on my waterbed, shaking, not knowing what to do as A brought my hand repeatedly down to touch his penis.  I sure as hell didn’t know what to say or do.  I’d like to say that I’d beat the shit out of anyone that tried to rape me, but I don’t know if I’d do that, either.  I might be in shock.  Too scared to move.  I might have A GUN TO MY HEAD and be threatened to stay still.

Apparently, though, verbal threats mean nothing.  Drugs mean nothing.  Being made to feel weak and helpless, being vulnerable and out of control of your body means nothing.

Worst of all, being a child who has absolutely no idea what sex is, but seeing as how everyone’s doing it, you do it anyway – and get pregnant.  Or getting raped by an adult – and because you might have learned to trust adults on the way, you didn’t fight back.

It doesn’t matter.  It doesn’t MATTER.

Why is it that people who have never thrown themselves away from someone who loves them more than life itself, because suddenly fear shoots through them for no reason they know – people who have never cowered at the touch of another, even though they know they’re safe – people that have never experienced being violated… why is it that these people get to make the rules?

I don’t understand.  I don’t understand why shock, why drugs, why youth and innocence don’t matter.  I don’t understand why it’s only rape if you’re screaming and kicking.I don’t understand why a man (and though I am very well aware that men can be raped, too, I do know the statistics and that it is very much more likely for a woman) who has never known that just by virtue of gender, he would be more vulnerable to life-altering pain and suffering is able to make a decision as to whether or not someone’s experience qualifies as “enough” to count.

It makes me want to vomit.

One thought on “I can’t even think about this.

  1. These politicians are really stupid. They really believe rape happens only when the girl fights back? What if being still is the only option . That or get shot in the head… so according to this republican politician, that isn’t rape. This mindset is so incomprehensible.

Leave a Reply

