The drive home.

It takes about 45 minutes for me to get home from work, depending on traffic.  Tonight, we had to stay late, and I went to dinner with a friend after a trip to Wal*Mart.

Why am I writing this?

When I got off the interstate, I saw blue lights.  A DWI checkpoint, I assumed.  Traffic slowed to a stop.  There were tons of people, parked at the animal clinic, parked on the side of the road.  More blue lights.

And more blue lights.

There were more police(wo)men than I’d ever seen in my life.  I got out of my car – at 12:00 at night (stupid, I know) and walked up to the two gentlemen standing in front of a vehicle.  “What happened?”

“Someone got shot.  Killed.”

A young man died on my way home tonight, about half an hour before I got there.  His life ended over a stupid fight that I’m sure wouldn’t have mattered in a few months.  I was on the only road home I knew, scared and sad, and a boy was laying in the road not 100 feet from my car.

God be with his family.

Leave a Reply

